The Telugu community of Greater Toronto Area celebrated the festival of Ugadi with great zeal in Toronto. Many Telugu people joined the celebrations held at St. Michael Power Secondary School in Toronto, Ontario, Canada organized by Telugu Cultural Association of Greater Toronto. Several Telugu families from surrounding cities Brampton, Mississauga, Scarborough, Kitchener, Waterloo, Cambridge, Hamilton, Milton, Markham, Richmond hill and other areas have also joined the program that is packed with Fancy Dress Competitions, music, drama, dance, comedy and many more.

The festival has begun with “Deeparadhana” and Canadian National Anthem. Executive committee members lit the light and Telugu Association President Anitha Bezawada delivered the welcome address. Secretary Mrs. Sailaja Payidiparty introduced the master of ceremonies and provided Ugadhi greetings. Traditional Ganapathi Prayer Song Vakratunda Mahakaya was performed by Meghna Baishya, Mihika Verma & Nikki. Panchanga Sravanam offered by priest Sri Srikantha Sharma Garu.

Musical Night with Non-stop entertainment with Mind Blowing, Melodious Musical Singing Performances performed by play back singers Sandhya and Hanishka Polimera.

Several music and dance programs performed. Some of them are Classical dance “Muddugare Yashodha – Sri Annamacharya Kirtana”, by Akila Rachakonda. Medley Dance by Neha Jarabandi and Kids Dance by Bhaskar Vutukuru, Sumedh Gadepalli, Nikhil Bottu, Akhil Jarabandi, Madhav Bezawada, Neha Jarabandi, Leela Vutukuru, and Sailesh Polavarapu.

Folk Duet Dance by Charan & Sajini Sivamohan, Bollywood Medley Dance By Giridhar Naik, Thota Ramudu Dance By Uday, Harika Kalluri & Pravalika Vemuri take audience to the highest level of happiness, fun and excitement.

Tollywood Medley Dance By Prima Dance School, Raye Raye Dance by Leela Vutukuru received outstanding response from youth in the Telugu Community. Tributes to Tollywood Legends a customised dance choreography by charan was stood as the highlight of the evening. The participants are Anitha Bezawada, Sailaja,Jagan Payidiparty, Himabindu Yeso, Rajsekhar Jarabandi,Kalyani, Mohan Bottu, Jyothi Bobbil, Koti Avvari, and Hema. The performance covered various tollywood songs from seniors to kids.

Jagan Payidiparty, Chairman, TCAGT Silver Jubilee Celebrations announced the two day long 25 years celebrations in July. The event planning is full swing and invited interested members to join the historic celebrations.

Koteswara Rao Polavarapu, President, Global Telugu Lions Club explained the charitable activities in India and Canada. Lions International convention is happening in Toronto and many Indian are participating in July Convention. Invited volunteers to help in this amazing mega event.

Srinivas Velma, Chairman, Telugu Community Centre of Greater Toronto (TCCGT) informed the community that there is great progressing in setting up the community center in Toronto, Canada.

Sada Siva Rao Gadde Telugu Trustee at Richmond Hill Hindu Temple notified the community members on the upcoming Srirama Navami celebrations and invited to be part of these festive celebrations.

Former TCAGT President Surya Bezawada introduced the guests. Sailaja Payidiparty and Anitha Bezawada garlanded the Guests. Chief Guest of our event Mr. Naval Bajaj, President Indo Candian Chamber of Commerce, and special Guest of honour Mr. Bala Khandaswamy, Chief Managing Director, Nilgiris group of restaurants addressed the gathering, and presented the Appreciation to the Telugu Association for their outstanding service to Toronto Telugu Community for the past 25 years. Mr. Naval Bajaj shared the highlights of recent India Mission 2014 to Hyderabad and Vizag. He reiterated the untapped business potential in Hyderabad, Vizag and other major cities in Andhra Pradesh. He invited all the Telugu business entrepreneurs to explore the opportunities in Hyderabad and Vizag. He offered ICCC’s support to ease the initial processes to successfully launch their ventures and joint ventures.

Toronto Telugu Cultural Association President Anitha Bezawada presented surprise awards to all the dedicated executive members for their outstanding performance in organising the Ugadhi celebrations. She offered special thanks to Surya Bezawada, Jagan Payidiparty, Srinivas Gadepalli, Rajashekar Jarabandi, Rama rao Vutukuru, Pankaj Baishya, Mohan Bottu, Kamala Kalluri, Hema Rachakonda, Vijaya Rao Bobbili, Vijayalakshmi Vajha, Hema Avvari and Cherry Charan. Sun Shine TV and ATN provided excellent media support in the success of the TCAGT Ugadhi event. Radhika Baisya, Harika Kalluri & Akhila Rachakonda were participated as masters of the ceremonies.

Delicious traditional festive dinner was freshly cooked and served by the committee members. Volunteer certificates distributed to the volunteers. Secretary Sailaja Payidiparty provided the vote of thanks and the event ended with Indian National Anthem.

For more information check out the following link: